Does it have to be that tough?

People pay money to experts who will give them recommendations for their life, be it relationships, career, or what have you.  I have a feeling if I ever asked one of these people what I should do for a career, public relations wouldn’t have been the first response.  But I’ve seldom done things that come easily to me or make sense, at least not at first.

I admit there is a part of me that is lazy as all get out. When things get too tough, I want to sit on the couch and watch movies from morning to night and eat delivery Thai food. But there’s also a part of me that craves the stimulation of a challenge. Therefore, I don’t feel satisfied until I accomplish the task at hand.

For example, public relations is full of high-energy extroverts, but I am a low-key introvert.  Then again, I feel a real sense of accomplishment when I can communicate with people in a meaningful way. That means I have to be patient and take time to listen to and understand my audience, and then figure out the best way to get my message across. When the process works, it’s so satisfying.

Also, I started training capoeira later in life, so it’s harder to get my body to successfully perform the movements. But I train as much as possible. with periods of rest in between.  I could be doing something gentler on my body, like Zumba, but I love how capoeira makes me feel, and I am seeing some progress.

So, sometimes to get to the top of a steep hill, I run straight up instead of walking up a gentle switch back. That just makes the rest at the top of the hill all the more enjoyable.

 

 

Leave a Reply

