New year, new post

After attending a cousin’s son’s wedding on New Year’s Eve, I’ve been thinking about how fortunate I am that I was born into this specific family.

You don’t get much choice when it comes to family, and some people are not as lucky as I, especially those who faced physical and mental abuse by people that they should be able to trust. But I can say that even if things aren’t always perfect, because of my family, growing up I never had to go hungry, always had a warm bed to sleep in,  freshly laundered clothes, etc.  And as an adult, I still know I can call a cousin, or an uncle if I need a place to stay for the night, or just meet up with someone for a meal.

I could write for hours about how important my family is to me, but I won’t bore you. Just something to mull over the next time you find yourself among family, be it yours or the brood of someone else.

 

Leave a Reply

