Damn blast, look at my past

I’ve talked about my batizado ad nauseum, but it finally happened this past Sunday. I promise I will write about Capoeira maybe just a little less, for a while at least.

But I was filled with a lot of emotion on the day of my batizado: anxiety that I’d freeze up while in the roda, relief that the day finally arrived, happiness that I’ve met so many good new people through ABADA, joy at finally moving into my transformation into a student of Capoeira (yellow/natural). Most especially is the  honor I feel having Mestre Cobra as my “padrinho”, or godfather.  In Capoeira, whoever plays against you in the roda for the first time at your batizado becomes your padrinho.  Lucky, lucky me!

So, while running through my emotional vault, I thought about where I was last year at the same time.  Mentally, I was constantly under stress, dealing with cranky people, waking up at 5:30 in the morning on many days to get a jump on work, and often finding myself still working at 8:00, and sometimes 10:00 or 11:00 at night.  My relationships suffered because I either had no time to see anyone, or just wasn’t mentally there when I was with them. Physically, I was 15-20 pounds heavier, and always tired.

Some people thrive on stress, and even though sometimes it was exciting to have all those challenges and responsibilities, I was not in a place where I wanted to be.  When my former employer announced the acquisition I knew the company would continue to move in a direction that I didn’t want to be a part of anymore.

So, while I watched the management and structure of my team change multiple times in less than half of a year, I built my plan for how to move into the next phase of my life.  As I mentioned before, I didn’t get to leave on my own terms, but I did have a plan in place, and was able to keep moving along.

I place so much importance on Capoeira because it has been the catalyst for change in my life in the past year. Maybe it’s because it is a game like chess in the sense that you have to think ahead to your next move when playing against someone, but that person can always fake you out, so you have to be prepared to pull out another move for your counter-attack. And with that, I need to go get ready to train tonight.

One response

  1. I love it, and what a profound and positive effect it has had in your life. Just being in your presence for a few days this summer I took up on a few of your good habits. Congratulations

Leave a Reply

