Garbage soup

In order to make the most of a budget for all of us seven kids, my mom had to be a creative meal planner.  For example, our Sunday roast turned into lunch meat for the week.  Over the years, I’ve transferred this habit into my own meals.

So, I’m about to go on vacation and I need to make sure that my vegetables are used up before they spoil. Hence, garbage soup. Fortunately for me, I had a couple of tubs of broth in the freezer into which I could throw my vegetables.  In this case, a broth made from a roast chicken I had a couple of months ago, and one from roasted beets, but you can use whichever kind of broth you want, but try something light, such as chicken or vegetable.

  • 8 cups broth (4 chicken, 4 beet)
  • 1 bunch chopped beet greens (include stalks)
  • 1/2 bunch of diced celery
  • 4 small yellow squash, chopped
  • 1 diced garlic clove
  • 1/8 jalapeno pepper, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup soy milk (regular milk, cream or half-n-half works, too)

Combine all ingredients in pot except for soy milk and salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 40 minutes until everything is tender. Then, season with salt and pepper and add soy milk and then blend everything with a hand mixer (a blender works fine, too).

It’s a little thin, but if you want to add more depth, try yogurt or creme fraiche, especially if the soup is a little spicy for you.  I ate mine with Naan bread.

Let me know if you try it!

 

Leave a Reply

